The Bat Tree

The Bat Tree

On Wednesday we had a picnic lunch in the botanical gardens. Salad from our new ice bags (the miniature version of the extreme 4WD vege shopping bag).
After the pleasant lunch break we decide to take a stroll and check out the “tropical parrots” that were making all the noise. Immediately obvious on seeing this tree was that it wasn’t the “tropical parrots” but 100s of fruit bats!!! hope you can see them

Have a small video but I can’t work out how to get it to load…

About Tinkerbel405

I am an Ecologist based at Landcare Research, Dunedin (in Otago, New Zealand). I mainly work on species responses to environmental change. In 2012 I was awarded a Rutherford Discovery Fellowship from the Royal Society of New Zealand. This fellowship has allowed me to return to New Zealand where I am embarking on an exciting new research program: Battlegrounds and safe havens: disentangling the roles of ecology and evolution in the response of biological communities to climate change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment